Integris Wayman Tisdale Award Preseason Watch List Announced

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected ten outstanding first-year players for its 2014 Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award Preseason Watch List. Members of the association’s board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as initial contenders for the national freshman of the year award. All NCAA Division I freshmen are eligible to win the award.


The award is to be presented to the national freshman of the year at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 14, 2014, at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Oscar Robertson Trophy and the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men’s Final Four.


Kansas guard Andrew Wiggins, the association’s preseason selection for Freshman Player of the Year, is joined by teammate Wayne Selden on the watch list. But it’s Kentucky that dominates the list with four players — twin guards Aaron and Andrew Harrison, forward Julius Randle and guard James Young.


Rounding out the list are Syracuse guard Tyler Ennis, Arizona guard Aaron Gordon, Florida guard Kasey Hill and Duke forward Jabari Parker. The Southeastern Conference boasts five of the 10 players on the list. Seven of the 10 players are guards.


Following is the complete watch list:


Pos. Player, School (Ht., Wt., Yr., Hometown)
G Tyler Ennis, Syracuse (6-2, 180, Fr., Brampton, Ont.)
F Aaron Gordon, Arizona (6-9, 225, Fr., San Jose, Calif.)
G Aaron Harrison, Kentucky (6-6, 218, Fr., Richmond, Texas)
G Andrew Harrison, Kentucky (6-6, 215, Fr., Richmond, Texas)
G Kasey Hill, Florida (6-1, 181, Fr., Eustis, Fla.)
F Jabari Parker, Duke (6-8, 235, Fr., Chicago, Ill.)
F Julius Randle, Kentucky (6-9, 250, Fr., Dallas, Texas)
G Wayne Selden, Kansas (6-5, 230, Fr., Roxbury, Mass.)
G Andrew Wiggins, Kansas (6-8, 200, Fr., Vaughan, Ont.)
G James Young, Kentucky (6-6, 215, Fr., Rochester Hills, Mich.)
By conference: SEC (5) ACC (2) Big 12 (2), Pac-12 (1).


The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU’s Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Oklahoma State’s Marcus Smart became the third winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award. Other notable previous winners of the national freshman of the year award include Anthony Davis, Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.


The Tisdale Award winner will receive a statuette designed by nationally-recognized sculptor Shan Gray. The April 14 banquet will also honor the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award.


The late Wayman Tisdale was a three-time USBWA All-American at the University of Oklahoma. Following a stint on the 1984 U.S. Olympic basketball team, he played 12 seasons in the NBA before retiring in 1997 to focus on a blossoming jazz music career. In March 2007, he was diagnosed with cancer and, following a courageous and difficult battle that included the amputation of his right leg in 2008, he passed away in May 2009.


The Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award is produced by Access Sports, an Oklahoma City-based 501(c)(3) not-for-profit foundation responsible for creating the Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award. Access Sports produces all events associated with the award, including the annual awards dinner. Proceeds from the activities affiliated with the award are used to support various worthy charitable causes, including providing opportunities for disadvantaged youth to participate in basketball leagues, clinics, and training throughout the state. In addition, Access Sports supports the Wayman L. Tisdale Foundation which helps fund prosthetics for those who cannot afford the cost on their own and may not be covered by insurance.


Tickets and sponsorship information for the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards are available at or by contacting Scott Hill (405-749-1515,


The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With more than 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. For more information on the USBWA and its award programs, contact executive director Joe Mitch at 314-795-6821.


Related links:
Integris Wayman Tisdale Award
Integris Wayman Tisdale Award Logo

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *